I am super sad to say that we ended up having to rehome Shaymin our little hedgehog. I was rather hesitant to post this as a lot of people have very strong opinions on rehoming animals, but I want you to hear me out.

For people who say you shouldn’t get an animal unless you know for a 100% fact that you will never have to rehome, that is isn’t really a good way to look at it. There are sometimes in life where you truly love animals and would never dream of rehoming them, but life happens and will sometimes throw things at you that make it impossible to continue caring for your lovable pet.

With that I’m not saying it’s okay to just constantly rehome pets all the time, but there are cases where it really is the better option or it just has to be done. I the case of Shaymin when we first got her I had plenty of time to spend with her and give her the love and attention she needed. Things have changed though, and I was no longer able to provide that care that she needed and knew it would be best for her if she went to a new owner who could give her the time and love she deserves.

And if you do rehome a pet, you shouldn’t feel like you should never get another pet again. For instance, some people might say that if I can’t take care of a hedgehog then why do I have five other pets? Well it’s simple; they require different care. A dog and a cat for example are able to roam freely so it’s pretty easy to give them the time and love they deserve. My three rats are also pretty easy. Even though they are in a cage, they are not like hedgehogs in that they need at minimum an hour a day of handling or they will no longer be well socialized. With rats even if you just spend five minutes with them if that’s all you have available on some days, they will love it and be plenty happy with that time.

That’s really all I wanted to say on the subject. Sorry it’s a sadder post and I haven’t been posting much recently, but my foot is still healing so I’m not able to do much.  And don’t worry about Shaymin; I know she has gone to a great home where she will get all the love and attention she needs/deserves.

Leave a Reply

